Kamut Hot Cereal with Honey, Banana, and Walnuts

Image

I have to confess that I am a serious “routine” person. My daily meals are pretty repetitive and well, boring. I usually go through a long phase of eating almost the same meals over and over until out of nowhere, I get tired of it and have to switch it up.

That’s sort of like me and oatmeal these days. I love oatmeal and I’ve probably had some variation of it for breakfast at least 4-5 times per week since maybe…August?

Needless to say, I needed a change. I decided to give this Kamut cereal (that I actually accidentally bought!) a try. I had thought I was buying the Kamut grain, which is similar to rice, but I actually bought the more finely chopped hot cereal. I cooked it similarly to oatmeal.

So I don’t know about you, but I didn’t really know exactly what Kamut was and had to google it. Kamut is a grain closely related to wheat, and while it is technically not gluten-free, most people with gluten allergies/sensitivities can tolerate it. It is high in protein and high in vitamins and nutrients.

It also has a unique and delicious taste and texture. It tastes almost buttery and creamy, and the texture is chewier as compared to oatmeal.  Of course, with it being the holiday season, it never hurts to find a healthy breakfast option to start a day that may likely include seasonal treats later on.

So, try something new and give Kamut a try. It is just as customizable as oatmeal, so try it with your favorite oatmeal mix-ins, or try different options, like dried fruits, as a natural sweetener. I kept it simple with minimal toppings, but next time I think I’ll add some dried dates for something different. Enjoy!

Image

Kamut Hot Cereal with Honey, Banana, and Walnuts

  • 1/3 cup Kamut
  • ½ cup milk of choice
  • ¾ cup water
  • 1 banana, halved, sliced thinly.
  • 1-2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp honey
  • ¼ cup walnuts

Combine milk and water in small sauce pan and bring to boil. Add Kamut, half banana sliced thinly, cinnamon, and stir. Reduce heat to simmer, covering. Let cook about 10 minutes or until desired consistency is reached, stirring occasionally.

Let sit for 1 minute, then put in bowl and top with remaining banana, honey, and walnuts.

Leave a Reply

