Cranberry White Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

I finally made a Fall recipe that doesn’t involve pumpkin. Don’t be too worried though. I’m not through with pumpkin just yet. I made these cookies for a Chili Cook Off and wanted to create a Fall inspired recipe that was not pumpkin-based, because I figured that someone would probably bring pumpkin something or other, especially with there being a plethora of pumpkin chili these days. I have to say that I’ve never been the biggest fan of oatmeal cookies in general. I’m sure many people can relate to the disappointment I feel when I pick up an oatmeal raisin cookie after mistaking it for chocolate chips. Raisins in my dessert? No, thanks. Not my thing.

Image

However, since I’ve gotten older (and more mature, I like to think), I’ve developed a fondness for oatmeal, especially in baked goods. I love the texture and the heartier flavor that it lends to breads, muffins, cookies, and crusts. The health benefits are a nice added benefit as well, though I am realistic enough to know that generally speaking, stuffing white chocolate, butter, sugar, and some sweetened cranberries does not necessarily yield a health food. But, it’s all relative. They are healthier. And sometimes, when you need dessert, that’s the best you can do. I get it.

Side note: I’ve seen so many recipes for these 3 or 4 ingredient “power bites” or cookies made of only, like, bananas and carrots and protein powder, or something crazy like that. That’s all well and good for a post-workout snack, but that’s not dessert. Dessert is supposed to be a treat and, to be honest, my primary purpose when making desserts is to make it taste as amazing as possible.

Image

If that involves using a cup of butter and sugar, I’ll do it. It’s supposed to be a treat. If it involves adding oatmeal and ingredients that are naturally sweetened, thus cutting back on added sugar, well then, that’s an added benefit.

I could go on and on (which is probably why I started a blog in the first place) but I’ll get to the point and just give you the recipe.

Image

Cranberry White Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Inspired by this recipe

  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking solda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons melted butter
  • 3 tablespoons melted coconut oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 2/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/3 cup white chocolate chips or chunks

In a bowl, combine the flours, oats, baking soda, and salt.

In a large bowl, combine butter, coconut oil, vanilla extract, egg, and brown sugar. Still well until combined.

Mix dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and stir without over-mixing.

Stir in cranberries and white chocolate chips.

With a spoon, scoop cookies onto cookie sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until slightly golden. Let cool and enjoy!

Another note: white chocolate and cranberries are seriously a perfect combination. White chocolate does not usually satisfy my chocolate cravings, but these worked perfectly.

Leave a Reply

