Basic Pumpkin Oatmeal

Image

In case anyone hasn’t heard yet, it’s Fall, which actually means that you should eat all of the pumpkin-flavored everything while it’s available and in season, and socially acceptable. Make the most of  Fall.

Despite my love for all things seasonal and my tendency to be a little “proactive” (I got out the Fall decorations in the second week of September when it was still technically Summer and temperatures were still in the 90s), I actually only made my first bowl of pumpkin oatmeal this past weekend.

So cozy and creamy. The perfect Fall breakfast.

I forgot how much I love pumpkin oatmeal. I also forgot how nutrient-dense pumpkin is; almost 200% of your daily value of Vitamin A in a serving of pumpkin. If you want even more reasons to eat pumpkins, here’s a good article. I’m all for added bonuses.

These pumpkin oats are worth the few extra minutes in the morning.

Pumpkin Oatmeal

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • ½ banana, thinly sliced
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Sweetener to taste (optional; I don’t use)
  • Walnuts/nut butter for topping

Combine oats and milk in small saucepan over medium and bring to boil. Simmer and add banana and spices, cooking 6-8 minutes. Add pumpkin puree and vanilla and stir, cooking 1-2 minutes longer.

Serve with toppings of choice.

Image

Leave a Reply

