Layered Chicken Enchiladas

Image

I cannot share this recipe without also sharing about one of my oldest, and closest friends, Michele. Image

After all, she’s the one that gave me this recipe. While most of my Mexican-inspired recipes are either from Jose’s family or modifications of dishes he’s had, this came from Michele….who is also basically family.

Though we are far in distance, we still talk almost every day. She’s one of those “pick up right where you left off and it’s as if you still see each other everyday” type friends whenever we get the chance to visit.  It seems that as we get older and transition into new phases in life, friends tend to come and go more and more, as a natural part of life, and this has made me realize how unique and lucky we are to have the friendship that we do.

We met when I was 5 and she was 6, soon after my family moved into the neighborhood in which she lived, in suburban Columbus. Her older brother was our paperboy who, upon meeting my family, told me that he had a sister my age I should meet soon. Well, I was so excited to meet my first new friend in the new neighborhood that I asked my parents if today was the day I could meet Michele every.single.day. Looking back, this was probably all in the span of a week or less but in my 5 year old mind it was forever.  Finally we met and we were pretty much inseparable ever since. We saw each other practically every day!

We always say that we are more like sisters than friends-we fought like sisters and love like sisters.  Though my family moved from Columbus to Cleveland while we were in middle school, we kept in touch, even writing each other letters, ended up going to the same college, and were just recently in each others’ weddings.

Image

Just putting on the garter, no worries.

Yep, guess we still pretty much do everything together.

Layered Chicken Enchiladas

(slightly modified from Michele’s recipe)

  • 1 rotisserie chicken
  • 8 corn tortillas
  • 1 16 oz jar salsa of choice (I used a hot red salsa)
  • 1 can Rotel
  • 1 cup queso fresco

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Shred chicken in bowl; set aside.

Coat bottom of 13×9 baking pan with layer of salsa. Layer with tortillas to cover; layer with chicken, salsa and Rotel, and cheese; make another layer of tortillas, and repeat until tortillas are used up. The last layer should be tortillas. Top with remaining salsa and Rotel and queso fresco. To be honest, I never measure cheese, so use as much or as little as you’d like.

Bake for 25-30 minutes until heated through. Serve with toppings of choice: cilantro, avocado, hot sauce, sour cream, etc.

We were enchilada purists that evening and the meal was equally delicious. These enchiladas can certainly stand on their own.

IMG_1555 

IMG_1563

This is another easily customizable meal-use whatever salsa you prefer, or have on hand. Add ingredients such as bell peppers or other vegetables. Switch up the cheese.

My theory is that as long as a recipe involves tortillas and melted cheese, you cannot go wrong.

IMG_1554

 

Leave a Reply

