Roasted Sweet Potato Salad with Mascarpone

So, about that mascarpone cheese……Image

I wasn’t joking when I confessed my love for it. I just want to incorporate it into every meal. Creamy yet mild enough, not as tart as crème freche, slight sweet. So many possibilities….

I will admit that I easily slip into routines with most of my weekly meals and usually lunch consists of the same standard salad-a very good salad, but the same nonetheless. It’s just easier when time is limited, makes grocery shopping faster, and is one less thing to plan during a busy week.

However, I’ve been on a kick lately with roasting butternut squash and sweet potatoes and tossing them with some greens, nuts, cheese, and a bit of olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Easy and quick enough to make on an hour long lunch break (and to save even more time, you could roast the squash ahead of time!). Tip: Trader Joe’s sells pre-cubed butternut squash, which is an excellent time saver and much less intimidating than cutting into one of those.

This was simply too delicious not to share. Ahh, Fall, I love you.

Image

Roasted Sweet Potato Salad with Mascarpone 

  • 1-2 sweet potatoes (I usually use 1 but this time the ones I had were tiny, so I used 2)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Pinch of salt + pepper
  • 1 cup haricot verts/green beans (I use frozen)
  • 1-2 cups mixed greens
  • ¼ cup walnuts (can also substitute pecans)
  • 1-2 tablespoons mascarpone cheese
  • 1-2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • Balsamic vinegar to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut sweet potatoes into small, one inch squares and toss with 1 tablespoon olive oil , cinnamon, salt, and pepper until coated. Spread onto baking sheet and roast for 20 minutes, flipping them at 10 minutes.

Heat green beans using method of choice if frozen; I heated them in the microwave and added them to the sweet potatoes and roasted for 5 minutes.

To assemble salads, simply add mixed greens to bowl.  Add sweet potatoes, green beans, walnuts, and remaining olive oil. Drizzle with balsamic vinegar and top with mascarpone cheese. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Obviously you can add or substitute ingredients to your liking, or even add chicken and/or quinoa to make this a more substantial dinner meal. Unless you are my husband. Even with added protein, he won’t eat this. Doesn’t like sweet potatoes, doesn’t like cheese. SIGH. I know. Lunch for me=eat all the food he won’t eat with me. I make it work.

Image

This salad is like taking a huge bite out of Fall-in the most appetizing way possible.

Leave a Reply

