Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal + Oatbran

Finally the weather is starting to turn in Kansas City. The leaves are changing, football is in full swing, there’s a slight chill in the air in the mornings. You can almost feel the season changing in the air. Though I do eat oatmeal all year long, a warm bowl of oats becomes even more comforting and cozy for breakfast during the Fall and Winter months.

Image

Obviously, there are numerous ways to cook oatmeal and almost every “healthy” cooking blog has a few (dozen) oatmeal recipes, so I realize that this is nothing new. But that is one of the great things about oatmeal-not only is it nutrient dense and filling, but also so versatile and easily customized to your own tastes (unless you are my husband and you have strange food texture issues….which is a story for another day that will probably come up at some point in time on here….).

The oatmeal/oat bran makes the texture so creamy, while adding additional protein and fiber. I use this basic combination practically every time I make a bowl of oats. Image

Image

I also need to mention my deep and ever-growing love for cinnamon. I use a lot of cinnamon in most of my baking (and cooking), especially in breakfast foods.

Image

I’ve started buying my cinnamon from Penzey’s, which is  pretty much one of my favorite stores these days. I love visiting that place, and I could browse around in there for at least an hour. Hey, everyone’s got their own version of retail therapy, right? Side note: I actually dislike that term for whatever reason, but I got no other way to describe my specialty food shopping habits. You can most definitely tell a difference with high quality cinnamon, and it is not much more expensive that what you’d pay in a grocery store.  

I was definitely in the mood for a warm bowl of oats on Saturday morning, after sitting outside in the chilly evening weather the night before at an outdoor concert. And though this is slightly different than my standard oats recipe, the classic combination of apples + cinnamon was nothing short than the perfect Fall morning breakfast. Also worth noting is that it kept me full for hours during a busy morning of yoga.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

  • ¼ cup rolled oats
  • 1/8-1/4 cup oat bran (adding the full ¼ cup makes a lot and it’s quite filling-depends on how hungry I am)
  • 1 small apple, diced
  • ½ banana
  • 1 cup vanilla almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • As much as cinnamon as you like!
  • Small handful of walnuts, for topping

Combine oatmeal, oat bran, and almond milk in a small saucepan on medium heat . Bring to a rolling boil, then immediately lower heat to simmer, and stir in apple, banana, and cinnamon. Let simmer for 5-6 minutes, or until tender, then remove from heat and let sit 1 minute. Transfer to bowl, add walnuts and enjoy! (preferably with a warm mug of coffee, but whatever you want to do is cool…I guess…).

Enjoy!

Image

Leave a Reply

