Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta

Since I’ve discovered this recipe I’ve probably made this dish, or a variation of it, at least 10 times. More or less.

I’d actually had the recipe for awhile before I first made it, but, like many recipes, hadn’t gotten around to it for some time. This is the problem, I’ve come to find: between Pinterest, food blogs, magazines, recipe websites, cookbooks, and my own recipe archives, I’m often paralyzed with indecision. Too many choices!

Finally I had some heavy whipping cream leftover from another recipe that needed to be used up so I decided to make this pasta dish. And I am very happy I did.

Image

So creamy, with the perfect kick of Cajun spices. It tastes like there is more than the amount of cream that there is, creating a creamier, decadent pasta sauce that is secretly on the lighter side.

Image

This is Jose’s new favorite dish. He asks for it at least once a week (we don’t make it quite that much), but….it’s that good. And this is saying a lot, because usually when I am suggesting ideas for dinners he’ll respond unenthusiastically with some variation of “Yeah, that’s fine.” And being the indecisive person that I already am, this drives me crazy because I want to know what he really wants! So I ask him again and am displeased when he does not respond as emphatically as I’d like him to. In case it is obvious, this is a conversation we have often. You’d think I would have learned by now.

What I’m trying to say, is that this is a delicious dinner that you should make tonight.

Image

Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta

Adapted from Eat Live Run

  • 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into small bite size chunks
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 shallot, minced
  • 1 yellow pepper, cut into strips
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons Cajun seasoning, divided
  • 1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes (can sub with fire roasted, Rotel, etc.-we use whatever we have on hand)
  • ¼ cup heavy whipping cream
  • 8 oz penne pasta

Cook pasta in boiling water, drain, and set aside.

In a large skillet, heat the olive oil over medium high heat. Add the chicken and 1 tsp Cajun seasoning blend and cook until the chicken has just cooked through—about six minutes.

Transfer the cooked chicken to a plate and add the minced shallot, pepper, and garlic to the hot skillet (add a little more oil if necessary). Saute until the shallot and peppers are tender and then add the tomatoes, cream and additional Cajun seasoning. Bring to a simmer and cook, stirring frequently, for a couple minutes. Add chicken back to sauce.

Add linguine to the pan and toss to combine. Serve pasta with a grating of Parmesan cheese if desired.

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

